Marijuana Grower Licenses Available In Florida

FLORIDA:  In June of last year Florida Governor Rick Scott signed into law a bill that legalizes the use of low-potency marijuana for medical purposes. On Wednesday of this week the state will begin accepting applications from parties interested in being one of five legal regional growing operations in the state.

It won’t be cheap or easy, though. The application fee is $60,063 and the state’s Department of Health will be accepting applications for just three weeks. Applicants also need to have been in the nursery business in Florida continuously for the past 30 years.

The licenses will allow growers to grow and sell low-potency marijuana to a state-licensed dispensing organization. The strain, sometimes called Charlotte’s Web, is high in cannabidiol, or CBD, but low in tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), the compound that produces a high. The drug may be used in oil or vapor form, but may not be smoked.