Broward Could Approve Fines For Marijuana In The Coming Weeks

FLORIDA:  With Miami-Dade taking the first step in making it a civil offense for anyone caught with marijuana this week, Broward County Commissioner Martin Kiar is confident Broward isn’t far behind. The new measure, passed Tuesday, will allow Miami cops to issue a citation to anyone caught with 20 grams of pot or less. The person cited will also have to pay a 100 fine. This, instead of jail time and a permanent record, is looking to become the new alternative in all of South Florida.

“I give Miami-Dade a lot of credit,” Kiar tells New Times. “I had no idea we had the authority as commissioners to do this until Miami stepped up and did it.”

Kiar says the idea had come to him in the past, mainly because he has seen and known of “good people” unable to shake off the stigma that comes from having a pot arrest on your permanent record.

 

Miami-Dade Adopts $100 Fine For Pot Possession

FLORIDA:  Miami-Dade commissioners voted Tuesday to let police treat marijuana possession the same way they do littering and loitering — issuing a civil citation with a $100 fine that keeps the offense out of the criminal system.

“We have better things to do with our police resources,” said Commissioner Sally Heyman, sponsor of the ordinance. “For goodness’ sakes, we don’t have to destroy the lives of so many.”

The change in county code passed 10-3, marking a milestone in how Florida’s largest local government treats marijuana offenses. The new ordinance gives police officers the option of either charging pot possession as a criminal misdemeanor or as a civil offense — which brings a fine but no criminal record — for possession of 20 grams or less, enough for about three dozen joints.